Guerre des femmes Igbo de 1929

Ancêtres féministes africaines

Un important acte de résistance des femmes dans l'histoire du Nigeria est la féminin Igbo « guerre » de 1929, qui autour d'opposition féminines marché à fiscalité injuste et règle indirecte au sud du Nigeria par les autorités coloniales britanniques. Avant que les britanniques ont colonisé le sud du Nigeria dans 1884, Femmes Yoruba et Igbo dans la région avaient puissant politique, judiciaire […]

Un important acte de résistance des femmes dans l'histoire du Nigeria est la féminin Igbo « guerre » de 1929, qui autour d'opposition féminines marché à fiscalité injuste et règle indirecte au sud du Nigeria par les autorités coloniales britanniques.

Avant que les britanniques ont colonisé le sud du Nigeria dans 1884, Femmes Yoruba et Igbo dans la région avaient puissant politique, judiciaires et religieuses des rôles au sein des systèmes de double-sexe du pouvoir féminin et masculin. Le pouvoir était partagé entre les hommes et les femmes de manière complémentaire pour promouvoir l'harmonie et le bien-être des sociétés. En igbo pré-colonial, responsabilités et les rôles sociaux sont les canaux par lesquels pouvoir dispersé, et les relations hiérarchiques ont été déterminées selon l'âge, expérience, capacité, État matrimonial et les rites d'initiation. Femmes exerçaient le pouvoir politique direct (Bien que moins d'hommes) à travers des organisations de tout-femelle, qui comprenait des tribunaux de la femme, autorités de marché, sociétés secrètes et les institutions de l'âge-catégorie. Ils exerçaient puissance collective et individuelle comme membres et chefs de ces organisations. Cependant, la période coloniale provoquée la marginalisation et même l'érosion de la femelle de la puissance politique et autorité dans la région.


Référence:

[1] Coucou, g. (2009). Les femmes Igbo et participation politique au Nigeria, 1800s-2005. The International Journal of African Historical Studies, 42 (1), 81-103.

[2] Anonyme (n.d.). Femmes ’ mouvements s – Les femmes autonomes et affiliées ’ mouvements s au Nigeria – Famille, développement, organisations, et national. Ce document provient de http://Family.Jrank.org/pages/1763/Women-s-Movements-Autonomous-Affiliated-Women-s-movements-in-Nigeria.html#ixzz1h8X7Vgnb

[3] http://www.onwar.com/Aced/nation/NAP/Nigeria/fwomens1929.htm

[4] http://www.revolutionprotestencyclopedia.com/fragr_image/Media/IEO_Womens_War_of_1929

[5] Oriji, J. N. (2000). Femmes Igbo de 1929-1960. Examen de l'Afrique de l'ouest, 2(1).

[6] Hanna, J. L. (1990). Danse, protestation, et « guerres » des femmes: Cas du Nigéria et les Etats-Unis. En G. Ouest & R. L. Blumberg (Eds.), Femmes et la protestation sociale (333-345). New York: Oxford University Press

Envoyer

Le « projet d'ancêtres féministe africaine » vise à documenter la riche histoire des luttes des femmes américaines pour l'autonomie et le changement. Cliquez sur le bouton ci-dessous si vous souhaitez contribuer détails d'une féministe Ancêtre africaine à ce projet.

Envoyer

The Igbo Women’s War of 1929

African feminist ancestors

An important act of women’s resistance in Nigeria’s history is the Igbo women’s ‘war’ of 1929, which centred around market women’s opposition to unfair taxation and indirect rule in southern Nigeria by the British colonial authorities. Before the British colonised southern Nigeria in 1884, Yoruba and Igbo women in the region had powerful political, judicial […]

An important act of women’s resistance in Nigeria’s history is the Igbo women’s ‘war’ of 1929, which centred around market women’s opposition to unfair taxation and indirect rule in southern Nigeria by the British colonial authorities.

Before the British colonised southern Nigeria in 1884, Yoruba and Igbo women in the region had powerful political, judicial and religious roles within dual-sex systems of female and male authority. Power was shared between men and women in such a complementary manner to promote harmony and the well-being of the societies. In pre-colonial Igboland, social roles and responsibilities were the channels through which power diffused, and hierarchical relationships were determined by age, experience, ability, marital status and rites of initiation. Women exercised direct political power (though less than men) through all-female organisations, which included women’s courts, market authorities, secret societies and age-grade institutions. They wielded collective and individual power both as members and as heads of these organizations. However, the colonial period brought about the marginalisation and even erosion of female political power and authority in the region.


Footnote:

[1] Chuku, G. (2009). Igbo women and political participation in Nigeria, 1800s-2005. The International Journal of African Historical Studies, 42 (1), 81-103.

[2] Anonymous (n.d.). Women’s movements – Autonomous and affiliated women’s movements in Nigeria – Family, development, organizations, and national. Retrieved from http://family.jrank.org/pages/1763/Women-s-Movements-Autonomous-Affiliated-Women-s-Movements-in-Nigeria.html#ixzz1h8X7Vgnb

[3] http://www.onwar.com/aced/nation/nap/nigeria/fwomens1929.htm

[4] http://www.revolutionprotestencyclopedia.com/fragr_image/media/IEO_Womens_War_of_1929

[5] Oriji, J. N. (2000). Igbo women from 1929-1960. West Africa Review, 2(1).

[6] Hanna, J. L. (1990). Dance, protest, and women’s “wars”: Cases from Nigeria and the United States. In G. West & R. L. Blumberg (Eds.), Women and social protest (333-345). New York: Oxford University Press

Submit

The 'African Feminist Ancestors Project' seeks to document the rich history of American women's struggles for autonomy and change. Click on the button below if you would like to contribute details of an African Feminist Ancestor to this project.

Submit