Constance Cummings-John

Ancêtres féministes africaines

Constance Cummings-John était un homme politique dans les deux pre- et post-colonial de Sierra Leone qui a fait campagne pour les femmes africaines ’ des droits de la. Elle est née en 1918 dans la colonie britannique de Freetown, Sierra Leone, dans l'élite Krio Horton famille. La Krios étaient les descendants d'esclaves affranchis (Jamaïcains, Les Barbadiens et néo-écossais noirs) qui avait été réglé […]

Constance Cummings-John était un homme politique dans les deux pre- et post-colonial de Sierra Leone qui a fait campagne pour les femmes africaines ’ des droits de la. Elle est née en 1918 dans la colonie britannique de Freetown, Sierra Leone, dans l'élite Krio Horton famille. La Krios étaient les descendants d'esclaves affranchis (Jamaïcains, Les Barbadiens et néo-écossais noirs) qui avait été installée dans la région par les britanniques dans le 18e siècle. La Grande-Bretagne a offert un soutien et encouragé le Krio de devenir anglophiles et se considèrent comme bien supérieure aux peuples de l'arrière-pays. Cummings-John ’ s famille étaient des intellectuels, entrepreneurs et professionnels. Elle a assisté à la meilleure des écoles missionnaires les, appartenaient à des sociétés et des clubs de l'élite et a visité avec les membres de la famille vivant dans d'autres colonies d'Afrique de l'ouest.

En 1935, Cummings-John a été envoyé à Londres pour former un enseignant, une qualification, qu'elle a acquis en un an, Malgré l'implication dans les grandes organisations noires à Londres, l'Union des étudiants ouest-africaine et la Ligue des personnes de couleur (LCP). Parrainé par un prêt du Bureau colonial, elle a étudié l'enseignement aux États-Unis dans les années 1930. Comme beaucoup d'autres femmes militantes de son temps, sa trajectoire de carrière a commencé avec la carrière socialement respectable de l'enseignement, mais a pris un tour politique, comme elle s'est impliquée dans les luttes nationalistes.[1]

Réveils politiques
Le racisme Cummings-John a connu aux Etats-Unis, qui l'a amenée de retour à Londres en 1936, où elle s'est impliquée auprès du Bureau International des services africains (IASB) fondée par les Sierra-léonais anticolonialistes, je. T. UNE. Wallace-Johnson. Elle a épousé le nouvellement qualifiés (mais beaucoup plus âgé) avocat, Ethan Cummings-John, et moins d'un an revient à Freetown. Offrir un emploi comme inspecteur des écoles par le gouvernement colonial, Cummings-John ont plutôt choisi d'accepter le poste de directeur des dirigée par noire africaine méthodiste épiscopale filles’ Ecole industrielle, qui s'est rapidement développé sous sa direction et les capacités de collecte de fonds.

De février 1938, Cummings-John a mis en place une branche de la LCP à Freetown, mais a été rapidement déçu par le désintérêt des membres principalement professionnel et conservateur en impliquant non-Krio (protectorat) peuples en politique. Dans les prochains mois, elle a informé la maison-mère à Londres qu'elle voulait le LCP s'affilier à la Ligue de la jeunesse nouvellement formé sur l'Afrique de l'ouest (WAYL). La mise en place de ce championnat était une réponse aux politiques « divise et règne » promulguée par le gouvernement colonial qui séparait la colonie côtière et la population de Krio du reste du pays, qui a été gouverné par les britanniques et connu sous le nom de protectorat. D'un côté, le gouvernement colonial limitée éducation coloniale à l'élite actuelle du peuple Krio dans les environs de Freetown. Les colonisateurs britanniques a également sous-traité la majeure partie de l'administration aux chefs traditionnels et des dirigeants autochtones, assurant ainsi également qu'ils pourraient maintenir leurs colonies »à peu de frais.» Les Britanniques ont aussi admis les Africains dans le gouvernement colonial central, mais avec une barre stricte sur l'avancement.[2]

Le WAYL a été mis en place par le militant radical, Wallace-Johnson, et visant à le ‘ sociale, émancipation politique et économique’ de toutes les colonies d'Afrique de l'ouest. Cummings-John immédiatement rejoint la nouvelle organisation et devenue bientôt son vice président. Avec quatre autres femmes, elle a été membre du Comité Central WAYL, et il a travaillé pour faire en sorte que les préoccupations des femmes n'étaient pas ignorées. Le WAYL s'est avéré très populaire comme il entreprit l'établissement d'une succursale propres syndicats dans le protectorat. Musulmans, auparavant exclus de toutes les activités politiques et sociales, étaient les bienvenus, et les gens de protectorat servis sur ses divers comités.

Cummings-Jean était un des quatre candidats WAYL pour gagner un siège dans le 1938 Élections municipales de Freetown, dans lequel elle a gagné plus de voix que n'importe quel autre candidat. Seulement 20, elle est devenue le politicien plus jeune et la seule femme à remporter une élection dans les colonies africaines, et a continué à servir un total de 20 années (1938-1942 et 1952-1966) Conseillère municipale. Ses principales préoccupations comme conseiller étaient l'éducation, installations de bibliothèque, conditions du marché et l'assainissement de la ville.

Le Colonial Office a mis une pression considérable sur Cummings-John de répudier Wallace-Johnson, qui était considéré comme un rouser canaille communiste dangereux. Elle a refusé mais a perdu son siège dans la 1942 elections, date à laquelle Wallace-Johnson était languissante dans ‘ détention préventive,’ et le WAYL était à l'agonie. Cummings-John elle-même échappé de justesse la détention. Son franc-parler et le refus de la boucle sous la pression exercée sur elle par le gouvernement colonial fait de Sierra Leone à un endroit dangereux pour elle. Par conséquent, elle s'est rendue aux Etats-Unis en 1946 avec ses deux fils, échapper à l'embargo sur les voyages que les britanniques avaient placé sur elle.

Bien aidé par Asadata Dafora, son basé à New York, frère du célèbre danseur (né Austin Horton), Cummings-John n'a pas pu obtenir un travail comme professeur aux USA et a dû travailler dans les hôpitaux. Elle poursuit son implication avec les mouvements politiques noirs, y compris siégeant au Comité exécutif du Conseil américain pour l'éducation africaine (ACAE) et le Conseil pour les affaires africaines, où elle a mobilisé des ressources considérables pour la cause de la gratuité pour les filles en Sierra Leone.

Carrière politique
En 1951, Cummings-John revint à Freetown afin de créer l'école préparatoire de Eleanor Roosevelt pour les filles, financée par une entreprise d'exploitation de carrières qu'elle avait établi et de collecte de fonds aux États-Unis. Le fait que l'école devait être libre était anathème au gouvernement colonial, qui a jeté de nombreux obstacles sur son chemin. Finalement, il a été convenu qu'elle facturerait étudiants frais annuels nominaux. By 1953, l'école, avec son orientation professionnelle et commerciale, a 611 élèves, et le gouvernement a décidé en 1954 pour payer les salaires du personnel département secondaire.

Lorsque la décolonisation a commencé en Sierra Leone, l' 1951 Constitution a donné le pouvoir aux peuples du protectorat, alors que les politiciens Krio fondé leur propre parti. Cependant, certains jeunes intellectuels Krio, y compris Cummings-John, dans l'intérêt de la réconciliation nationale a rejoint les politiciens de protectorat’ Parti populaire Sierra Leone (SLPP). La devise du SLPP était ' un pays, Un seul peuple. » Réformes en 1951 fusion de la colonie et protectorat politiquement, et du Conseil législatif, alors que le droit de conserver les membres nommés de blancs, maintenant disposait d'une majorité des élus africains, Malgré une franchise reste grossièrement limitée. Aux élections de cette année, le SLPP a obtenu une majorité écrasante au Conseil législatif réformé. Cela a été bien ressentie par la plupart Krios.

En 1952, le gouverneur de la Sierra Leone a nommé Cummings-John à un siège au Conseil de Freetown, où elle a continué à travailler pour les questions qu'elle avait dans 1938, ainsi que celles soulevées par le mouvement des femmes de la Sierra Leone (MOUVEMENT). Cummings-John a également siégé le SLPP ’ exécutif s et maintenu sa campagne pour l'inclusion des femmes dans ses politiques et les peuples de protectorat. Élections générales ont eu lieu pour une nouvelle, Maison des élus dans 1957, mais la franchise était encore limitée aux hommes. Cummings-John a décidé de se présenter aux élections comme candidat SLPP; encore une fois, elle a gagné le plus de votes et est devenu une des deux femmes dans le nouveau gouvernement de Sierra Leone dirigé par le SLPP.

Pour fellow de cette Cumming-John Krios elle a condamné comme un traître. Ils l'a accusée de négligence dans la 1957 élection et a intenté contre lui dans laquelle elle a reçu une peine de prison — écrasé sur appel. Elle a démissionné de son siège au lieu du visage humiliation supplémentaire.[3] Bien que profondément ébranlé par les accusations portées contre lui, Cummings-John se trouvait à nouveau aux élections au Conseil municipal en 1958 et les sondages en tête. Retour sur le Conseil, elle continue son combat pour les municipales (plutôt que confessionnelle) éducation; ses luttes pour les femmes de marché contre neuf, péages élevés pour les étals de marché; ses luttes contre le décret obligeant les femmes à acheter des agrafes de riz et d'huile de palme de grandes entreprises britanniques, plutôt que directement auprès des producteurs, et ses luttes pour les agriculteurs’ Banque. Elle a continué à diriger l'école Roosevelt et à la tête du mouvement, qui exige des voyages internationaux de plus en plus.

En 1961, Sierra Leone a obtenu son indépendance de la Colombie. Au sein du SLPP Cummings-John imprudemment s'associe à ce qui allait devenir une faction perdante, et a été défait dans le 1962 après l'indépendance élection par un candidat rival du SLPP. Elle a abandonné la politique nationale, et en 1966 est élu maire de Freetown, devenant la première femme africaine à gouverner une capitale moderne sur le continent.

Cummings-Jean a utilisé sa position pour tenter d'unir les gens de Freetown et pour élever le statut des femmes. Elle a lancé une campagne d'assainissement; marchands ambulants étaient réglementés; On tente de canaliser les énergies du nombre croissant d'enfants des rues; une école municipale a été mises en place. Cependant, Cummings-John n'a pas beaucoup de temps pour faire ce travail: bouleversements politiques a abouti à une commission d'enquête sur Freetown ’ finances s et, alors qu'elle participait à l'étranger une réunion des femmes ’ s Fédération démocratique internationale, elle a été accusée de détournement de fonds publics. Par la suite, le SLPP a perdu la 1966 élection générale, mais le gouvernement du Congrès le nouveau All Peoples' est bientôt renversé par une prise de contrôle militaire.

Renforcement du mouvement des femmes
En plus des pionniers africains la participation des femmes en politique, Parmi les plus remarquables réalisations de Cummings-John a été la création du mouvement des femmes de la Sierra Leone (MOUVEMENT). In Sierra Leone, l'écart entre les femmes de Krio, soulevées en grande vogue victorienne depuis le 19e siècle, et les femmes de classe ouvrière marché — coiffeurs, Lavandières et couturières — était immense. C'était lors d'un Conseil municipal qui Cummings-John a milité activement pour Freetown ’ femmes marché s, qui a conduit à fonder le mouvement en 1952. Le mouvement développé succursales dans tout le pays et a fait campagne sur une variété de questions, allant de la négociation des droits à l'éducation, et pour les agriculteurs’ Banque. Elle a publié un journal, mis en place une femmes commerçantes’ cours du soir de coopérative et conduites.[4]

Cummings-John ’ s constante préoccupation était d'inclure des femmes de protectorat dans le travail du mouvement tout en assurant que Krio préoccupations ne pas dominer. Un facteur qui a travaillé en sa faveur était que les femmes politisées étaient si rares qu'ils n'avaient pas d'autre choix que d'organiser dans l'ensemble régional, barrières ethniques et de classe. En effet, leur mouvement est devenu un véritable creuset pour l'éveil d'un Sierra-léonais nationales conscience.[5]

Comme le mouvement a grandi, Il a fait des contacts internationaux, et en 1960 devient membre fondateur de la Fédération des femmes de Sierra Leone ’ s Organisations. Cummings-John a travaillé principalement avec les femmes du marché et a participé activement dans leur lutte pour l'autodétermination. À la suite de ses efforts, beaucoup plus tard, après la guerre civile en Sierra Leone (1991-2002), qui avait considérablement augmenté le nombre des travailleuses, deux femmes qui travaillent ’ syndicats s sont nés: les marchandes de Sierra Leone ’ Union de s et les lavandières ’ s Union.

Ces dernières années
En 1966, Cummings-John retournée à Londres après 30 années’ absence. Bien que la ville a radicalement changé et ses vieilles associations politiques avait cessé d'exister, elle a été rapidement engagée politiquement à nouveau. Elle a travaillé avec la branche locale du parti travailliste et la Co-Operative Society; elle a servi dans de nombreuses écoles comme gouverneur et s'est impliquée dans un certain nombre d'organismes communautaires. Très actif dans la campagne pour le désarmement nucléaire (CND), Cummings-John a parlé sur les plates-formes CND dans tout le pays et formé les femmes pour groupe de désarmement.

Cummings-John a tenté de se réinstaller dans Freetown en 1974 à 1976, mais les conditions étaient trop chaotiques. Elle est retournée à ses engagements de Londres, mais a maintenu ses liens avec son ancien parti (le SLPP), les femmes ’ mouvement s et son école. En 1996, elle est allée au Nigeria pour assister au lancement de son autobiographie et puis de nouveau tenté de s'installer à Freetown. Le SLPP a remporté les élections, et elle espère aider les Sierra-léonais à retrouver sa stabilité. Ses espoirs ont été vite déçus, et elle retourne à Londres en 1998. Sans aucun doute dévasté par la tragédie continue en Sierra Leone, Cummings-John est mort le 21 Février 2000.

Son héritage
Comme une femme, Lutte de Cumming-John était double: déliement le noeud du colonialisme et de faire accepter dans la colonie de Sierra Leone, où les femmes ne devaient pas se livrer à des activités politiques. Cummings-John est remarqué pour avoir dit que son défaut majeur dans sa carrière politique a été "naïveté en attribuant sa propre loyauté, générosité et courage civil lui male associates – les politiciens dont rapacité [a], au cours des dernières 40 années, a apporté à son pays bien-aimé à la ruine. »[6] Néanmoins, elle restera toujours dans les livres d'histoire comme quelqu'un qui s'est efforcé d'indépendance pour son peuple et pour l'égalité, ainsi que pour le travail elle a fait avec les femmes et l'éducation. Son école de filles est toujours debout.

En contemporain post-conflit Sierra Leone, les femmes ont réussi à sécuriser 13.5 pour cent des sièges au Parlement, sans action positive ou un système de quotas — grâce à la mobilisation et l'activisme des femmes ’ s groupes et coalitions. Les femmes ’ mouvement s a réussi à rendre les partis politiques et le gouvernement reconnaissent qu'il n'est plus politiquement viable d'éluder les femmes ’ des droits s'ils souhaitent gagner leur droit de vote. En tant que femmes ’ organisations s, en particulier la 50/50 Groupe, continuer la lutte pour mettre en place un quota, le défi pour Sierra-Léonaises est comment faire en sorte que cela n'est pas détourné par l'establishment politique dominé par les hommes.

Encore plus sociales et culturelles des obstacles pour les femmes en Sierra Leone en ce qui concerne leur bien-être en général et l'égalité des chances avec les hommes. Le travail maintenant nécessaire pour construire sur l'héritage de piliers tels que Constance Cummings-John comprend des réformes législatives visant à promouvoir les droits des femmes, la dignité et le bien-être. Sur le plan culturel le défi constant est de redéfinir les normes, valeurs et les comportements à encourager la participation des femmes à tous les niveaux du privé et vie publique.


Notes:

[1] Mama, UNE. (2003). Restauration, réforme, mais ne transformons pas: La politique d'égalité des sexes de l'enseignement supérieur en Afrique. GRGRG/RESA, 1(1), 101-125.

[2] Whyte, C (2008). L'école est: Stratégies de la résistance coloniale Sierra Leone. Ce document provient: http://Academia.edu/1241001/Schools_Out_strategies_of_ resistance_in_colonial_ Sierra_Leone

[3] http://www.sierra-leone.org/Heroes/heroes7.html

[4] http://Royaume.co.uk/Blog/article/our-Story-Constance-Cummings-John

[5] ADI, H et Sherwood, M (2003 ). histoire panafricaine: Personnalités politiques de l'Afrique et la diaspora depuis 1787. Londres: Routledge.

[6] http://www.sierra-leone.org/Heroes/heroes7.html

Envoyer

Le « projet d'ancêtres féministe africaine » vise à documenter la riche histoire des luttes des femmes américaines pour l'autonomie et le changement. Cliquez sur le bouton ci-dessous si vous souhaitez contribuer détails d'une féministe Ancêtre africaine à ce projet.

Envoyer

Constance Cummings-John

African feminist ancestors

Constance Cummings-John was a politician in both pre- and post-colonial Sierra Leone who campaigned for African women’s rights. She was born in 1918 in the British colony of Freetown, Sierra Leone, into the elite Krio Horton family. The Krios were the descendants of freed slaves (Jamaicans, Barbadians and Black Nova Scotians) who had been settled […]

Constance Cummings-John was a politician in both pre- and post-colonial Sierra Leone who campaigned for African women’s rights. She was born in 1918 in the British colony of Freetown, Sierra Leone, into the elite Krio Horton family. The Krios were the descendants of freed slaves (Jamaicans, Barbadians and Black Nova Scotians) who had been settled in the area by the British in the 18th century. Britain offered some support and encouraged the Krio to become anglophiles and see themselves as much superior to the peoples of the hinterland. Cummings-John’s family were intellectuals, entrepreneurs and professionals. She attended the best of the local missionary schools, belonged to elite clubs and societies and visited with members of the family living in other West African colonies.

In 1935, Cummings-John was sent to London to train as a teacher, a qualification she gained in a year, despite involvement in the major black organizations in London, the West African Students’ Union and the League of Coloured People (LCP). Sponsored by a colonial office loan, she went on to study vocational education in the United States in the 1930s. Like many other activist women of her time, her career trajectory started with the socially respectable career of teaching, but took a political turn as she became involved in nationalist struggles.[1]

Political awakenings
Cummings-John experienced racism in the United States which led her back to London in 1936, where she became involved with the International African Service Bureau (IASB) founded by the Sierra Leonean anti-colonialist, I. T. A. Wallace-Johnson. She married the newly qualified (but much older) lawyer, Ethan Cummings-John, and within a year returned to Freetown. Offered a job as inspector of schools by the colonial government, Cummings-John chose instead to accept the principalship of the black-led African Methodist Episcopal Girls’ Industrial School, which grew rapidly under her guidance and fundraising abilities.

By February 1938, Cummings-John had set up a branch of the LCP in Freetown, but was soon disappointed in the disinterest of the mainly professional and conservative membership in involving non-Krio (protectorate) peoples in politics. Within a few months, she informed the parent-body in London that she wanted the LCP to affiliate with the newly formed West African Youth League (WAYL). The establishment of this league was a response to the ‘divide and rule’ policies promulgated by the colonial government which separated the coastal colony and Krio population from the rest of the country, which was ruled by the British and known as the Protectorate.  On the one hand, the colonial government limited colonial education to the existing elite of the Krio people in the area around Freetown. British colonisers also sub-contracted the bulk of administration to traditional chiefs and native rulers, thus also ensuring that they could maintain their colonies ‘on a shoestring.’  The British also admitted Africans into the central colonial government, but with a strict bar on advancement.[2]

The WAYL was set up by radical activist, Wallace-Johnson, and aimed at the ‘social, political and economic emancipation’ of all West African colonies. Cummings-John immediately joined the new organization and soon became its vice president. Along with four other women, she was a member of the WAYL Central Committee, and worked to ensure that the concerns of women were not ignored. The WAYL proved vastly popular as it set about establishing trade unions own branches in the Protectorate. Muslims, previously excluded from all political and social activities, were welcome, and Protectorate people served on its various committees.

Cummings-John was one of four WAYL candidates to win a seat in the 1938 Freetown municipal elections, in which she gained more votes than any other candidate. Only 20, she became the youngest and only female politician to win an election in the African colonies, and went on to serve a total of 20 years (1938-1942 and 1952-1966) as municipal councillor. Her main concerns as councillor were education, library facilities, market conditions and city sanitation.

The Colonial Office put considerable pressure on Cummings-John to repudiate Wallace-Johnson, who was seen as a dangerous communist rabble rouser. She refused but lost her seat in the 1942 elections, by which time Wallace-Johnson was languishing in ‘preventive detention,’ and the WAYL was in its death throes. Cummings-John herself barely escaped detention. Her outspokenness and refusal to buckle under the pressure put upon her by the colonial government made Sierra Leone a dangerous place for her. As a result, she travelled to the USA in 1946 with her two sons, evading the travel embargo that the British had placed on her.

Though helped by Asadata Dafora, her New York–based, well-known dancer brother (né Austin Horton), Cummings-John was unable to obtain work as a teacher in the USA and had to work in hospitals. She continued her involvement with black political movements, including serving on the executive committee of the American Council for African Education (ACAE) and the Council on African Affairs, where she mobilized considerable resources for the cause of free education for girls in Sierra Leone.

Political career
In 1951, Cummings-John returned to Freetown to establish the Eleanor Roosevelt Preparatory School for Girls, financed by a quarrying business she had established and by US fundraising. The fact that the school was intended to be free was anathema to the colonial government, who threw many obstacles in her way. Eventually it was agreed that she would charge students a nominal annual fee. By 1953, the school, with its vocational and commercial focus, had 611 pupils, and the government agreed in 1954 to pay the salaries of the secondary department staff.

When decolonization began in Sierra Leone, the 1951 constitution gave power to the peoples of the Protectorate, while Krio politicians founded their own party. However, some younger Krio intellectuals, including Cummings-John, in the interest of national reconciliation joined the Protectorate politicians’ Sierra Leone People’s Party (SLPP). The SLPP’s motto was ‘One Country, One People.’ Reforms in 1951 merged the colony and protectorate politically, and the legislative council, while allowed to retain appointed white members, now had a majority of elected Africans, despite a still grossly limited franchise. At elections held later that year, the SLPP gained an overwhelming majority in the reformed legislative council. This was much resented by most Krios.

In 1952, the governor of Sierra Leone appointed Cummings-John to a seat on the Freetown Council, where she continued to work for the issues she had in 1938, along with those raised by the Sierra Leone Women’s Movement (SLWM). Cummings-John also served on the SLPP’s executive and maintained her campaign for the inclusion of Protectorate peoples and women in its policies. General elections were held for a new, elected House of Representatives in 1957, but the franchise was still restricted to men. Cummings-John decided to stand for election as an SLPP candidate; she again gained the most votes and became one of two women in the new Sierra Leone government led by the SLPP.

For this Cumming-John’s fellow Krios condemned her as a traitor. They accused her of malpractice in the 1957 election and brought a court case against her in which she was given a prison sentence—squashed on appeal. She resigned her seat rather than face further humiliation.[3] Though deeply shaken by the accusations levelled at her, Cummings-John again stood for elections to the municipal council in 1958 and topped the polls. Back on the council, she continued her struggles for municipal (as opposed to denominational) education; her struggles for the market women against new, high tolls for market stalls; her struggles against the decree forcing women to buy staples of rice and palm oil from the large British firms rather than directly from producers, and her struggles for a farmers’ bank. She continued to run the Roosevelt School and to head the SLWM, which demanded more and more international travel.

In 1961, Sierra Leone gained its independence from the British. Within the SLPP Cummings-John unwisely associated herself with what became a losing faction, and was defeated in the 1962 post-independence election by a rival SLPP candidate. She abandoned national politics, and in 1966 was elected mayor of Freetown, becoming the first African woman to govern a modern capital city on the continent.

Cummings-John used her position to attempt to unite the people of Freetown and to elevate the position of women. She initiated a sanitation campaign; street traders were regulated; attempts were made to channel the energies of the growing number of street children; a municipal secondary school was set up. However Cummings-John did not have much time to do this work: political upheavals resulted in a commission of enquiry into Freetown’s finances and, while she was abroad attending a meeting of the Women’s International Democratic Federation, she was charged with misuse of public funds. Thereafter, the SLPP lost the 1966 general election, but the new All Peoples’ Congress government was soon overthrown by a military takeover.

Women’s movement building
In addition to trailblazing African women’s participation in politics, one of Cummings-John’s most notable achievements was the establishment of the Sierra Leone Women’s Movement (SLWM). In Sierra Leone, the gap between Krio women, raised in high Victorian fashion since the 19th century, and working-class market women—hairdressers, washerwomen and seamstresses—was immense. It was while on the city council that Cummings-John actively campaigned for Freetown’s market women, which led to the founding of the SLWM in 1952. The SLWM developed branches nationwide and campaigned on a variety of issues, ranging from trading rights to education, and for a farmers’ bank. It published a newspaper, established a women traders’ co-operative and conducted evening classes.[4]

Cummings-John’s constant concern was to include Protectorate women in the work of the SLWM and to ensure that Krio concerns did not dominate it. One factor that worked in her favour was that politicized women were so rare that they had no choice but to organize across regional, ethnic and class barriers. Indeed their movement became a real crucible for the awakening of a Sierra Leonean national consciousness.[5]

As the SLWM grew, it made international contacts, and in 1960 became a founding member of the Federation of Sierra Leone Women’s Organisations. Cummings-John worked largely with the market women and actively participated in their fight for self-determination. As a result of her efforts, much later, after the civil war in Sierra Leone (1991-2002), which had greatly increased the number of women workers, two working women’s unions were born: the Sierra Leone Market Women’s Union and the Washerwomen’s Union.

Latter years
In 1966, Cummings-John returned to London after 30 years’ absence. Though the city had changed radically and her old political associations no longer existed, she was soon politically involved again. She worked with the local branch of the Labour Party and the Co-Operative Society; she served in many schools as governor and became involved with a number of community organizations. Very active in the Campaign for Nuclear Disarmament (CND), Cummings-John spoke on CND platforms around the country and formed the Women for Disarmament group.

Cummings-John tried to resettle in Freetown in 1974 to 1976, but the conditions were too chaotic. She returned to her London commitments, but maintained her links with her old party (the SLPP), the women’s movement and her school. In 1996, she went to Nigeria to attend the launch of her autobiography and then again tried to settle in Freetown. The SLPP had won the elections, and she hoped to help Sierra Leone regain its stability. Her hopes were soon dashed, and she returned to London in 1998. Undoubtedly devastated by the continuing tragic events in Sierra Leone, Cummings-John died on 21 February 2000.

Her legacy
As a woman, Cumming-John’s struggle was two-fold: untying the knot of colonialism and gaining acceptance in the colony of Sierra Leone, where women were not expected to engage in political activities. Cummings-John is noted to have said that her major fault in her political career was ‘naivety in ascribing her own loyalty, generosity and civil courage to her male associates – to the politicians whose rapacity [had], during the past 40 years, brought her beloved country to ruin.’[6] Nonetheless, she will always be remembered in the history books as someone who strove for independence for her people and for equality, as well as for the work she did with women and in education. Her school for girls still stands.

In contemporary post-conflict Sierra Leone, women have managed to secure 13.5 per cent of seats in parliament—without affirmative action or a quota system—thanks to the mobilization and activism of women’s groups and coalitions. The women’s movement has succeeded in making the political parties and government recognize that it is no longer politically viable to sidestep women’s rights should they wish to gain their votes. As women’s organizations, in particular the 50/50 group, continue the struggle to introduce a quota, the challenge for Sierra Leonean women is how to ensure that this is not hijacked by the male-dominated political establishment.

Even more social and cultural barriers exist for women in Sierra Leone in terms of their general wellbeing and equal opportunities with men. The work now required to build on the legacy of stalwarts such as Constance Cummings-John includes legislative reforms to promote women’s rights, dignity and well-being. Culturally the ongoing challenge is to redefine norms, values and behaviours to encourage women’s engagement in every level of private and public life.


Footnotes:

[1] Mama, A. (2003). Restore, reform, but do not transform: The gender politics of higher education in Africa. JHEA/RESA, 1(1), 101-125.

[2] Whyte, C (2008).  School’s out: Strategies of resistance in colonial Sierra Leone. Retrieved from: http://academia.edu/1241001/Schools_Out_strategies_of_ resistance_in_colonial_ Sierra_Leone

[3] http://www.sierra-leone.org/Heroes/heroes7.html

[4] http://royaume.co.uk/blog/article/our-story-constance-cummings-john

[5] Adi, H and Sherwood, M (2003 ).  Pan-African history: Political figures from Africa and the diaspora since 1787. London: Routledge.

[6] http://www.sierra-leone.org/Heroes/heroes7.html

Submit

The 'African Feminist Ancestors Project' seeks to document the rich history of American women's struggles for autonomy and change. Click on the button below if you would like to contribute details of an African Feminist Ancestor to this project.

Submit